Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Best project here??

Built a scanner? Started to build a scanner? Record your progress here. Doesn't need to be a whole scanner - triggers and other parts are fine. Commercial scanners are fine too.
builderstudent2

Best project here??

Post by builderstudent2 » 12 Dec 2009, 17:41

Hello all! This is my first post here so I guess I could introduce myself briefly before I ask my question. I'm a 2nd year agriculture student at the University of Hawai'i here on O'ahu. I also work as an interpreter when I have time. I came to this website because when I searched for book scanners I saw these site on Google.

So, what I want to do is the same as everyone else of course. build a book scanner. However when I first came to this site, I saw -> "Our community has developed a whole ecosystem of scanner designs ranging from crude and expedient to polished and highly sophisticated." So that really makes me wonder what is the best book scanner here? I'm asking this question generally and I know that everyone might think theirs is the best but I am curious to know which one Daniel, the founder here, feels is the best one? For me from my brief look around on this site, the portable scanner here seems to be really awesome:
http://diybookscanner.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=103