Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Book (camera-based) Scanner versus Flatbed Scanner

Built a scanner? Started to build a scanner? Record your progress here. Doesn't need to be a whole scanner - triggers and other parts are fine. Commercial scanners are fine too.
daddyE

Book (camera-based) Scanner versus Flatbed Scanner

Post by daddyE » 10 Mar 2010, 18:28

I'm new to the scanning area... so please forgive my ignorance. Can someone describe the reasons for creating a camera based book scanning system versus just removing the binding from a book and feeding the pages through a flatbed scanner with a document feeder?

I realize that for historical texts, destruction of the binding is non-optimal. But for a lot of people that are embracing the e-book era and discarding or boxing up their mass-market physical books after scanning, wouldn't it make sense to just destroy the binding and more easily scan the pages?

Is there a quality difference? (i.e. does the camera-method offer a higher quality and therefore higher OCR accuracy?)

In my opinion it seems like a lot of work to sit around and flip every page of every one of my 500 books. Ripping off the binding and sitting a stack of paper on a flatbed scanner sounds easy in comparison.

What am I missing?

E

spamsickle

Re: Book (camera-based) Scanner versus Flatbed Scanner

Post by spamsickle » 10 Mar 2010, 19:13