Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Gluing the glass platen

Built a scanner? Started to build a scanner? Record your progress here. Doesn't need to be a whole scanner - triggers and other parts are fine. Commercial scanners are fine too.
Drake Ravensmith
E-book readers owned: Kindle 3
Number of books owned: 0

Gluing the glass platen

Post by Drake Ravensmith » 18 Apr 2011, 17:56

So, I have no experience gluing glass to wood. I've been trying to visualize how the glass would be glued to a new standard platen design and I'm just not getting anything. So I asked. I was told I could use Gorilla Glue by just about everyone but I've been getting conflicting opinions from store employees, friends, and family about how it should be done. Now I'm asking here. What's the best way?

Ryan_phx
E-book readers owned: Nook, Kindle DX
Number of books owned: 0

Re: Gluing the glass platen

Post by Ryan_phx » 18 Apr 2011, 20:31

I'd say not to glue it at all. I used double-sided carpet tape to hold my glass to the platen, and it holds very well. There's no mess, and if you ever had to replace the glass, it would be a lot easier to remove the tape than it would be to remove glue. Just my $.02.

spamsickle

Post by spamsickle » 18 Apr 2011, 22:02

I've used silicone sealant to bond wood to acrylic on a couple of my platens, and have been pleased with the results. I can't promise it would work as well on glass, but I'd be willing to try it. The double-sided tape also sounds promising, depending on what kind of glue it employs.