Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Everything camera related. Includes triggers, batteries, power supplies, flatbeds and sheet-feeding scanners, too.
ibr4him
Posts: 102
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 10:36

Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by ibr4him » 25 Nov 2010, 23:56

Hi,

Is there any remote available that allows shooting with two Canon DSLRs (I have 2 T2i's)? Yes, I can connect them to a PC and 'click' to take photographs, but I much prefer a wired/wireless remote if possible?

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

User avatar
Antoha-spb
Posts: 89
Joined: 21 Nov 2009, 09:54
Number of books owned: 1000
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by Antoha-spb » 29 Nov 2010, 06:55

Haven't seen any manufactured remotes of such kind but i guess you can make one yourself. You need two 2,5 stereo male jacks, a button (or dual button or two buttons), button case plus some wires. If you aren't good at soldering maybe you can find a workshop to bring the components together.

User avatar
Misty
Posts: 481
Joined: 06 Nov 2009, 12:20
Number of books owned: 0
Location: Frozen Wasteland

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by Misty » 29 Nov 2010, 10:17

Would a 2.5mm splitter work to connect a single remote to two cameras? Alternately, I wonder if the IR remote could fire two cameras simultaneously like the NEX IR remote can.
The opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

Shaknum
Posts: 91
Joined: 16 Aug 2010, 13:10

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by Shaknum » 29 Nov 2010, 23:34

Sometimes a 2.5mm stereo splitter will work, but on some setups the cameras will "talk" to each other and cause both cameras to go on a picture taking spree. I got a generic remote http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ED ... ss_product which has a port to plug in a second 2.5 mm stereo cable, and it works wonderfully with my 2 NX10's. I imagine you could do this with an IR remote setup too, but it will cost way more unless your camera has a built in IR receiver.

User avatar
daniel_reetz
Posts: 2780
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 13:56
E-book readers owned: Used to have a PRS-500
Number of books owned: 600
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by daniel_reetz » 30 Nov 2010, 03:02

Interesting to hear that the splitter doesn't always work.

I just posted a little guide to doing this for the Olympus EP-1, though the principle should be the same for all wired triggers. I haven't tested this setup with two cameras (I have only one camera) but it should work, no problem.

russca
Posts: 53
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 00:53
Number of books owned: 0
Country: ____

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by russca » 30 Nov 2010, 16:41

ibr4him wrote:Is there any remote available that allows shooting with two Canon DSLRs (I have 2 T2i's)? Yes, I can connect them to a PC and 'click' to take photographs, but I much prefer a wired/wireless remote if possible?
Considering you own 2 T2i's , I would go to a PocketWizard dealer and ask about using 3 PocketWizard Plus IIâ„¢ transceivers. One as a trigger, the other two as receivers on the same channel. If they do the trick, you can buy them on Ebay for $166 a piece.

http://www.pocketwizard.com/products/tr ... plus%20ii/

ibr4him
Posts: 102
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 10:36

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by ibr4him » 05 Dec 2010, 10:35

Shaknum wrote:Sometimes a 2.5mm stereo splitter will work, but on some setups the cameras will "talk" to each other and cause both cameras to go on a picture taking spree. I got a generic remote http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ED ... ss_product which has a port to plug in a second 2.5 mm stereo cable, and it works wonderfully with my 2 NX10's. I imagine you could do this with an IR remote setup too, but it will cost way more unless your camera has a built in IR receiver.
So your remote has an optional port to connect a second camera? Is it called 'Syncro Cable' because some Satechi remotes support multiple camera via a 'syncro cord', not sure how it works though.

Anyhow, yes, T2i does have built-in Infrared receiver, which remote should I go for?

Many thanks!

ibr4him
Posts: 102
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 10:36

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by ibr4him » 05 Dec 2010, 10:42

I prefer wired remote because there're no hassles or charging. BTW, would this splitter work?

russca
Posts: 53
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 00:53
Number of books owned: 0
Country: ____

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by russca » 23 Dec 2010, 01:28

ibr4him wrote:I prefer wired remote because there're no hassles or charging. BTW, would this splitter work?
I found this inexpensive wireless trigger for Canon/Nikon/Sony?FujiFilm/Olympus DSLRs on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/R3K-2-4GHz-Wireless ... 351wt_1139

You can use one remote to trigger two cameras wirelessly. Below is the link to a second on-camera trigger for a dual setup.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 583wt_1139

Your camera is listed under C1

loyukfai
Posts: 43
Joined: 24 Jan 2011, 02:37

Re: Remote Shutter Release (DSLRs)

Post by loyukfai » 26 Apr 2011, 15:28

Is there any splitter for D200/D300/D700 plug...?

Image

Post Reply