Brand New: Initial Impressions & Searching for Answers

Share your software workflow. Write up your tips and tricks on how to scan, digitize, OCR, and bind ebooks.

Moderator: peterZ

natecbc
E-book readers owned: Kindle Paperwhite
Number of books owned: 4300

Brand New: Initial Impressions & Searching for Answers

Post by natecbc »

Hello Everyone!

I'm brand new to this world of book scanning and print content digitization. I've been trying to learn about all of the different DIY and commercial offerings out there and I have to say it is a bit overwhelming. I'll get to the point where I think that I have seen all the commercial offerings and then another product will pop up in a youtube suggestion or google search. The same has proven true of the DIY sector.

I have a few comments about my findings so far and some questions:

BEST CURRENT SCAN SET-UPS:

Commercial: Atiz Bookdrive Pro (http://pro.atiz.com/) I like that it utilizes DSLR, though I understand that this has diminishing value for normal text only books, has laser guided focus, many content size options, and auto-shoots as soon as the platten comes down. The software that is utilized seems to streamline the process pretty well. Seems significantly cheaper than many other commercial offerings BCR 100, ScanRobot 2.0, etc but the Archivist seems to achieve this same system, minus DSLR support & additional lazer focus, for 1/10th the price.

DIY Option 1: "The Archivist" (http://diybookscanner.myshopify.com/pro ... er-kit-2-0) seems to be the best DIY option in-terms of the build quality and longevity. If someone were to start a local book scanning business it would look good and professional. Alternatively an industrious person could replicate the build without needing to buy the pieces again. I know originally Daniel made a CAD file available but I don't think the Archivist's current build is available if someone wanted to go build it all on their own.