script to auto-split two scanned pages in single pages

General discussion about software packages and releases, new software you've found, and threads by programmers and script writers.

Moderator: peterZ

dingodog
Number of books owned: 1000

script to auto-split two scanned pages in single pages

Post by dingodog »

working with graphicsmagick and imagemagick (removing gm from script) (I started to write this script to automate some repetitive tasks)

assuming you have scanned two pages at one time and you want split in single pages

and your first image has name 0-000.jpg

you can split in single pages all your scans, by calculating the cropping dimensions and coordinates, by reading width and height from first image and dividing by two its width, to have the dimensions and the cropping coordinates for even and odd pages

this is my first attempt to create a splitting script, so, many thing may be enhanced

for graphicsmagick

Code: Select all

if [ ! -e even-odd ]; then mkdir even-odd; fi
first="`ls -1 *.jpg | head -n1`"
let "halfwidth=`gm identify -format '%w \n' "$first"`/2" 
width="`gm identify -format '%w \n' "$first"`"
height="`gm identify -format '%h \n' "$first"`"
quality="$(gm identify -verbose $(ls *.jpg | head -n1) | grep Quality | cut -d: -f2)"
for FILE in *.jpg ; do gm convert -quality $quality -crop "$halfwidth"x"$height"+0+0 "$FILE" "${FILE%%.jpg}-A.jpg" ; mv `ls *.jpg | grep A` even-odd ; gm convert -quality $quality -crop "$width"x"$height"+"$halfwidth"+0 "$FILE" "${FILE%%.jpg}-B.jpg" && mv `ls *.jpg | grep B` even-odd
 done ; 
for imagemagick

let "halfwidth=` identify -format '%w \n' "$first"`/2" 
width="`identify -format '%w \n' "$first"`"
height="`identify -format '%h \n' "$first"`"
quality="$(identify -verbose $(ls *.jpg | head -n1) | grep Quality | cut -d: -f2)"