Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Scan Tailor specific announcements, releases, workflows, tips, etc. NO FEATURE REQUESTS IN THIS FORUM, please.
TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 27 Mar 2012, 19:18

Hi - Scantailor can't read any JPGs that I have on my machine (even JPGs I've dloaded from Google images.)

It can read TIFs OK, though. (But not JPGs renamed to TIFs. But I don't know if that's surprising.)

WinXP, SP3. Loads of software installed.

I haven't ever had Symantec installed on this PC, but I do have Sophos. Disabling it didn't work. I'll try uninstalling it now...

R.

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 27 Mar 2012, 19:32

Uninstalled Sophos.

Restarted...

:cry: :evil:

It didn't work...

Any thoughts?

I've set the default jpg double click action to use Windows Picture & Fax Viewer. (Previously it was Picasa).

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 27 Mar 2012, 19:44

Also just reinstalled ST. (But didn't uninstall it first.) Still can't read jpgs.

Also tried renaming a .jpg to .jpeg


I assume that ST should basically accept any jpg, regardless of whether it actually has any text in it. (I've been testing with some holiday pictures. That should still be OK, shouldn't it?)

It seems likely that something I've installed has changed the default XP jpg decoder? If so, stuff I've installed that 'interacts' with jpgs:
Picasa
Canon camera & printer software
CutePDF
Image resizer for Windows (great utility lets you resize images by right clicking them)
Real Player alternative (?)
Mega Codec Pack
Winamp
Uhhh... Scan Tailor

Thanks,

Richard

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 27 Mar 2012, 19:51

Last reply to myself before bed!

I've also noticed that ST knows the size of images, even though it can't display them.

In other words, look at the attached, and you'll see that the thumbnails on the right are all different shapes. These shapes correctly reflect the shape of the original images.

The 3rd thumbnail is a TIF.

Thanks, R.
Attachments
HGDF.jpeg
ST - can't read JPGs, but knows what proportions they are.
Last edited by TheOnlyRick on 27 Mar 2012, 19:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
daniel_reetz
Posts: 2797
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 13:56
E-book readers owned: Used to have a PRS-500
Number of books owned: 600
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by daniel_reetz » 27 Mar 2012, 20:24

TheOnlyRick, did you see this announcement from Tulon? Do you have any antivirus products running? It seems that some of them can prevent ST from reading JPG images.

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 28 Mar 2012, 03:00

daniel_reetz wrote:TheOnlyRick, did you see this announcement from Tulon? Do you have any antivirus products running? It seems that some of them can prevent ST from reading JPG images.
Hi - yes I did. I've never had any Symantec product on this machine - but I do have plenty of other software.

I've uninstalled Sophos (and even just tried turning of the Windows Firewall). Nada.

Thanks, Richard

eL_PuSHeR
Posts: 125
Joined: 28 Jun 2010, 15:25

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by eL_PuSHeR » 28 Mar 2012, 03:02

The OP said he/she had Sophos installed and that he/she tried opening JPEG files after uninstalling it.

I have another question: Can you open JPEG files at all? I mean outside ST?

Also you could download latest 0.9.11.1 version. I doubt it will fix your JPEG issue but it's always good to be up to date.

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 28 Mar 2012, 03:25

I can open JPGs normally.

I am now on 0.9.11.1 (It seems I missed the latest version on SourceForge by minutes.)

I've just tried ST on a different PC. Worked like a charm.

I'm intrigued. I'm gonna start up the ol' Virtual PC and start installing stuff until ST breaks.

Thanks, Richard

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by Tulon » 28 Mar 2012, 10:38

Sorry, no idea what breaks it for you.
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

TheOnlyRick
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Mar 2012, 18:57
E-book readers owned: Kindle, Android
Number of books owned: 0
Country: UK

Re: JPG issue - Have Sophos installed.

Post by TheOnlyRick » 05 Apr 2012, 12:11

Couldn't get ST to work on my desktop.

I created a virtual image of my current XP install and from there uninstalled most of the apps (and all the ones that might intefere with JPGs).

ST still can't display JPGs on my desktop (but is OK on laptop).

Cheers, Richard

Post Reply