Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Fastest computer build for Scan Tailor?

Scan Tailor specific announcements, releases, workflows, tips, etc. NO FEATURE REQUESTS IN THIS FORUM, please.
Adam32
Number of books owned: 500

Fastest computer build for Scan Tailor?

Post by Adam32 » 05 Nov 2014, 04:36

I have been using Scan Tailor for a few months, but it is pretty slow on my PC. At the moment I am running a Core2Duo overclocked to 4ghz with 8GB of Ram. I am now going to build a new PC and am willing to spend up to £1500 ($2400). Any idea what sort of build I should go for to attain maximum speed on Scantailor? I was thinking of one of these processors:

Intel Core i7 4970K - 4.4GHZ
AMD FX-9590 - 5GHz

Also what about going for 64gb of RAM - will this have any noticeable effect?

Any ideas what sort of build for my price will get me the fastest speeds on Scan Tailor? Also any idea what sort of improvement in speed I will achieve over my current build?

dpc
Number of books owned: 0

Re: Fastest computer build for Scan Tailor?

Post by dpc » 05 Nov 2014, 16:33

There's a comment here from the author of ST:
http://www.diybookscanner.org/forum/vie ... =21&t=2626

Note that post is over two years old and I believe that there have been efforts since then to modify ST to use more CPU cores.

I don't know about memory usage. You could launch the app and then look at its working set with PerfMon. Perhaps an SSD would be beneficial?

It would be cool to have a set of common images that could be used to benchmark ST on a variety of machines to note the typical performance improvement seen by adding more RAM or a faster hard drive.

Adam32

Post by Adam32 » 05 Nov 2014, 18:55