Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Select Contents Replication Question

Scan Tailor specific announcements, releases, workflows, tips, etc. NO FEATURE REQUESTS IN THIS FORUM, please.
Post Reply
rwreed
Posts: 21
Joined: 23 Jan 2011, 16:15

Select Contents Replication Question

Post by rwreed » 07 Feb 2011, 01:51

I've noticed with select content if I make a small margin change and trickle that through the rest, all the rest are set to ? status. If I click on them it does appear the change has been made. Do I need to click on each one or should I just ignore the question marks? Also it seemed to me that previous versions when you selected Every other page, it did it from that page on. But now it appears to do all odd or all even pages. Perhaps this is more a feature request, but can an option be added to "change ever other page from this page on?" I'm using a input dpi of 370. 1.0 beta9 ubuntu 10.04

User avatar
JonEP
Posts: 81
Joined: 19 Apr 2010, 15:09

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by JonEP » 07 Feb 2011, 10:21

I've been using ST quite a bit recently. I'm not exactly sure what the problem is that you're experiencing. But generally when you have content selected on an entire series and then, following a specific page there are a series of question marks, you need to "press play" over on the left -- that is, press the arrow to instruct ST to go ahead and continue selecting content. Might it be the case that you have something like "apply to all pages following this page" selected when you make your change? If you want to make a change to just one page then you'd want to select the button to apply to just the present page when you make the change.

If you haven't already, you should definitely check out the instructional video. It was made for an earlier version of ST, so there are some differences, but it gives you the basics of how to work through the phases of processing. See this link.

By the way, Tulon, I'd like to register my continued vote in favor of the utility of the manual select content feature. It's really great and has made my workflow so much faster. I hope it survives to the final version -- it's really great.

EDIT: looking at your post again, and at your other posts here, it seems like you probably already have a handle on all the stuff I just said. So perhaps I'm of no help here (wouldn't be the first time).

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by Tulon » 07 Feb 2011, 16:26

rwreed wrote:I've noticed with select content if I make a small margin change and trickle that through the rest, all the rest are set to ? status.
This shouldn't ideally be happening, but who knows - it may be an unavoidable implementation detail. After all, this feature is very hard to get right. Masahiro Kitagawa, the author of this feature would be the best person to answer this question. On this forum he is known as kitashi.
rwreed wrote:Also it seemed to me that previous versions when you selected Every other page, it did it from that page on.
This also should not be happening. Might be a recent regression. Does it only happen on the Select Content stage or on others as well?
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

rwreed
Posts: 21
Joined: 23 Jan 2011, 16:15

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by rwreed » 08 Feb 2011, 12:52

Perhaps, this is confusion on my part. In order to actually apply a change to a group of photos, do you first click apply, select the parameters (all selected pictures, all even picture, etc) click ok, and then click the "play" button again to actually apply the changes?

Randy

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by Tulon » 08 Feb 2011, 14:47

rwreed wrote:Perhaps, this is confusion on my part. In order to actually apply a change to a group of photos, do you first click apply, select the parameters (all selected pictures, all even picture, etc) click ok, and then click the "play" button again to actually apply the changes?
Well, the "play" button doesn't have anything to do with applying settings. It does get rid of the question marks though, as it means "start batch processing" while a question mark means "re-processing required". So, you do whatever causes question marks to appear and then press the "play" button.
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

Anonymous1

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by Anonymous1 » 08 Feb 2011, 16:54

Just to clarify it a bit, the question marks represent images which have not been processed. Whenever you change a setting (like the size of the content box, borders, etc.), the image will get a question mark again because the current output image is outdated and must be re-processed.

Basically, the images with the question marks have to be processed. To do that, just select the first image in the whole batch and click the little Play button on the top-left-hand-corner on the Output section. This automatically processes all of the images.

spamsickle
Posts: 596
Joined: 06 Jun 2009, 23:57

Re: Select Contents Replication Question

Post by spamsickle » 18 Feb 2011, 10:40

I finally got around to playing with this feature. I appreciate the work that's been done, but I'd like to see it work differently too.

I don't believe the behavior of updating the selection box, but requiring the page to be "played" before removing the question mark, should be an unavoidable implementation detail. "Fix Orientation" just goes through and rotates the images, and it doesn't seem to me that any more computation is required to apply a constant selection box. I could be wrong; it may be that the possibility that "Split Pages" and "Deskew" have clipped out or rotated out portions of the image we'd like to select means that queueing for the actual selection is the best we can do in the current Scan Tailor framework.

I think selecting a range of images and choosing "apply to selected" is an acceptable (and more flexible) way of specifying "apply to the following".

Thanks to Tulon's helpful tips, my compile is working again, so I'll try to play around with the new selection changes and see what's happening.

Post Reply