Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Beta 11

Scan Tailor specific announcements, releases, workflows, tips, etc. NO FEATURE REQUESTS IN THIS FORUM, please.
Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 11

Post by Tulon » 10 May 2011, 10:22

Misty wrote: Tulon, are you able to advise as to the best way to package up a build for distribution? I'd be able to make a Mac build.
I've never made a Mac build and don't really know how to.
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

User avatar
jimboh
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 00:55

Re: Beta 11

Post by jimboh » 10 May 2011, 22:13

I compile ST for Mac OS X using the instructions on the SourceForge web site. Is the resulting binary self-contained, or would someone else need to have Xcode and MacPorts on his computer to use my binary?

User avatar
n9yty
Posts: 72
Joined: 25 Jul 2010, 22:13

Re: Beta 11

Post by n9yty » 20 May 2011, 21:42

At one point I had made detailed build notes, and included the support files to build on the Mac. They were included at one point in the repository under the packaging/osx directory. I don't know what the current state is, though, as I never got a scanner built and have had to move on to other projects. But I would start looking there...

EDIT: I downloaded the current git source and after updating my Qt Carbon install to the current 4.7.3 it compiled fine.

Build here: http://www.4shared.com/file/72104Vm1/Sc ... eta11.html
MD5 (ScanTailor-1.0.0beta11.dmg) = ab062b4521a120ac7439aa56b213a01f

However, there was a patch needed for the Mac that Tulon never wanted to include in the source, but is required to prevent a problem with contextual menus in zone operations.

Code: Select all

*** ZoneContextMenuInteraction.h	2011-05-10 17:02:08.000000000 -0500
--- fixed/ZoneContextMenuInteraction.h	2011-05-20 21:17:43.000000000 -0500
***************
*** 131,136 ****
--- 131,139 ----
  	std::auto_ptr<QMenu> m_ptrMenu;
  	int m_highlightedZoneIdx;
  	bool m_menuItemTriggered;
+ #ifdef Q_WS_MAC
+ 	int m_extraDelaysDone;
+ #endif
  };
  
  #endif
*** ZoneContextMenuInteraction.cpp	2011-05-10 17:02:08.000000000 -0500
--- fixed/ZoneContextMenuInteraction.cpp	2011-05-20 21:17:43.000000000 -0500
***************
*** 112,117 ****
--- 112,121 ----
  
  	interaction.capture(m_interaction);
  
+ #ifdef Q_WS_MAC
+ 	m_extraDelaysDone = 0;
+ #endif
+ 
  	int h = 20;
  	int const h_step = 65;
  	int const s = 255 * 64 / 100;
***************
*** 193,198 ****
--- 197,209 ----
  		return;
  	}
  
+ #ifdef Q_WS_MAC
+ 	if (m_extraDelaysDone++ < 1) {
+ 		QTimer::singleShot(200, this, SLOT(menuAboutToHide()));
+ 		return;
+ 	}
+ #endif
+ 
  	InteractionHandler* next_handler = m_rContext.createDefaultInteraction();
  	if (next_handler) {
  		makePeerPreceeder(*next_handler);

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 11

Post by Tulon » 21 May 2011, 11:16

Actually it was another approach (the one with intercepting clicks and key presses) that was too dirty for my taste. This patch I am willing to apply.
For some reason I am getting rejections trying to do so. Could you make this patch by doing "git diff > file.patch" from the toplevel directory?
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

User avatar
jimboh
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 00:55

Re: Beta 11

Post by jimboh » 22 May 2011, 21:11

Will the patch discussed immediately above solve the problem discussed a few posts down in this thread (i.e. the missing feature in the Mac version of QT):

http://www.diybookscanner.org/forum/vie ... ?f=8&t=995 ?

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 11

Post by Tulon » 23 May 2011, 02:54

jimboh wrote:Will the patch discussed immediately above solve the problem discussed a few posts down in this thread (i.e. the missing feature in the Mac version of QT):
Yes.
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

User avatar
jimboh
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 00:55

Re: Beta 11

Post by jimboh » 23 May 2011, 03:02

Tulon wrote:Yes.
Cool!

User avatar
jimboh
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 00:55

Re: Beta 11

Post by jimboh » 24 May 2011, 14:45

Has the patch been applied? I don't see anything new on the summary / shortlog.

Tulon
Posts: 687
Joined: 03 Oct 2009, 06:13
Number of books owned: 0
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 11

Post by Tulon » 24 May 2011, 15:14

jimboh wrote:Has the patch been applied? I don't see anything new on the summary / shortlog.
Not yet. As I said above, I am having problems applying it. I asked n9yty to produce the patch differently, but haven't heard back from him. I'll wait some more, and then I'll try applying it by hand.
Scan Tailor experimental doesn't output 96 DPI images. It's just what your software shows when DPI information is missing. Usually what you get is input DPI times the resolution enhancement factor.

User avatar
jimboh
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 00:55

Re: Beta 11

Post by jimboh » 24 May 2011, 15:36

Thanks for the update. When I see something in the summary / shortlog, I will download the latest snapshot, give it a whirl, and let you know how it works.

BTW, on the issue of font size in the Apply To dialogues, I figured out how to edit the ui files to make the fonts bigger for Mac OS X. I am not a programmer, but I am wondering whether there are instructions somewhere on how to write a patch that would make the changes for compiling under Mac OS X only. Your thoughts?

Post Reply