Page 1 of 5

BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 03 Feb 2013, 21:19
by steve1066d
I've got a beta new version of BookScanWizard. I've been working on it a while and it is much improved over the old version, especially with usability.

http://bookscanwizard.sourceforge.net/beta

bsw.jpg
Here's some of the new features:
  • It can read and write PDF files
  • NormalizeLIghting is much improved. It can take to grey or white scans, and use them to adjust the other pages. It is useful if the lighting isn't consistent across a page. It will also normalize the lighting between the two sides.
  • Instead of always inserting config at the cursor position, when you do things like fix perspective or crop, it will automatically save the config to the correct spot. You can specify multiple crops or perspectives and the code will insert the new crow at the right position.
  • There is a new "tip of the day" which provides help for important, but not obvious features and options.
  • There is a thumbnail panel to help select pages.
  • Added an AddBorder command to add additional whitespace around an image.
  • Added a scaling slider to resize the preview window.
  • Added a dialog to dynamically change levels, gamma, or saturation by using sliders instead of guessing numbers.
  • There is an expanded metadata page which will allow saving information, such as the title, author, date, etc to a pdf or to the Internet Archive.
  • There's a status bar that shows the size of the current page along with the selected region.
  • In general, the configuration will mostly create itself without nearly as much typing.
  • There a new mode where it will monitor a directory for new files then when it receives an end of book qr code for both left and right sides, it will save the scans to a directory.
There's a video that goes over the basics. I'll try to add other videos with the other features.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GbMgpsVA1Ss

Also, remember this is beta code, so expect a few glitches. I'm definitely in interested in hearing about bugs you find.

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 05 Feb 2013, 01:01
by daniel_reetz
Downloading!

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 06 Feb 2013, 13:57
by bimbo111
Hey Steve.

I'm new to bsw, but can't really use the program, it seems. I'm getting this error (attached) everytime a try to do something. I've read that it should be possible to increase the available memory by executing the jar like so:
command line wrote: java -Xmx1024m -jar BookScanWizard.jar

But if i do that i get this error:
command line wrote: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: net/sourcefor
ge/bookscanwizard/BSW : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: net.sourceforge.bookscanwizard.BSW. Program will
exit.
What should i do? :)

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 06 Feb 2013, 14:23
by bimbo111
Seems to have fixed it, by executing it with this app:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/launch4j/?source=dlp

This way i could increase the memory from a gui.

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 06 Feb 2013, 15:17
by steve1066d
You get the UnsupportedClassVersionError if you are using too old of a Java Runtime.

The beta requires version 7 (the old version used 1.6).

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... index.html

(You need the JRE version)

I'm hoping to come up with a way of installing and running this without webstart, and without needing to preinstall Java.. but there isn't any simple ways of doing that and support Linux and Macs, as well as Windows.

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 08 Feb 2013, 22:00
by evamvid
I installed BSW 2.0 beta and tried to use the webstart, but windows came up with a message saying the security certificate was valid but had expired. Normally, I would ignore it, but given the recent mess with Java, I decided to cancel it. How does this get fixed?

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 09 Feb 2013, 01:52
by steve1066d
I resigned the jai jar files, which will remove the warning about the expired certificate.

However, you will still receive this dialog:
bsw_warning.jpg
bsw_warning.jpg (38.66 KiB) Viewed 9204 times
It lists an unknown publisher because I'm using a self-signed certificate.

Alternatively, you can use the manual installation. Its a bit more work, but if you are comfortable with the command line it should be fine.

However, there really isn't any additional security risks running BSW using Webstart. The Java exploit was to get around showing that warning dialog and silently do things without you knowing.

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 18 Feb 2013, 00:38
by firefly2000
I tried BSW 2.0 on a Mac running Mountain Lion (OS 10.8) and JRE 1.7. Everything seemed to be working pretty well until I hit the Submit button and got the following Java error message:

java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException:java.lang.ArithmeticException: / by zero

I tried to submit again after removing some changes to the script that I had made (sorry, I don't remember quite what), and got a different error message:

java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException:java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Coordinate out of bounds!

Steve, any idea what might be going on? Thanks in advance for your time.

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 18 Feb 2013, 15:04
by steve1066d
Can you post your configuration script?

Re: BookScanWizard 2.0

Posted: 26 Feb 2013, 12:42
by bimbo111
Hi Steve. I've had no problems with stability since i installed windows 8.

I'm having another problem though. Look these attached photos. When i use normalize lighting i get black borders around the edges. It seems to me that when i apply normalize lighting it crops before it fixes perspective, even though it's the other way around in the script. What to do?

Really like the software btw! Though i think i need a faster computer for this kind of image processing. :)