New to this but lost in the mass of information

Don't know where to start, or stuck on a certain problem? Drop by and tell us about it. Feel like helping others? Start here.

Moderator: peterZ

andyg2
Number of books owned: 0

New to this but lost in the mass of information

Post by andyg2 »

Hi All,
There's so much information here and I'm lost looking through all sorts of things that don't match my needs.
There seems to be many different designs and specifications, links to various software helper applications and much more.

I plan to construct one dual Canon camera book scanner with lighting for scanning old books from a local university.
I don't need any OCR and de-skewing shouldn't be needed with a platen to keep the page flat.
Speed and quality would be helpful but I'm not the richest man in the world.

I'm a PHP programmer and ex network engineer so would be be fine to implement scripts for the CHDK Canon system or most other technical hacks.
Can anyone point me the right direction to get an up to date parts list with matching assembly instructions, and the software I might need to gain the most productivity.

Many many thanks,
Andy
daniel_reetz
E-book readers owned: Used to have a PRS-500
Number of books owned: 600

Re: New to this but lost in the mass of information

Post by daniel_reetz »

Forums are tough. I apologize. There is a lot of work going on behind the scenes to restore the wiki and other parts of the site that will hopefully help distill the activity here.

What you've pointed out, though, is that there is no One True Way to scan a book. Hardware doesn't work for everyone, software doesn't work for everyone. So you need to be more clear about exactly what you're after to really nail this down.