Noob questions about DPI, Scan Tailor and PDF creation

Don't know where to start, or stuck on a certain problem? Drop by and tell us about it. Feel like helping others? Start here.

Moderator: peterZ

michael

Noob questions about DPI, Scan Tailor and PDF creation

Post by michael »

Hello, my name is Michael, and I'm a book scanning noob. ;)

I've been trying to figure many things on my own, but I'm getting too confused about a couple things (book scanning related, of course), so it's time to ask for help. But before, just a couple details about what I'm doing so you can see where I'm coming from.

I'm studying in the history of literature field (in french mostly, so pardon my english) and I often have to work with documents I can't take out of libraries. So, about 6 months ago, I decided to get a digital camera to archive some material I work on instead of going to the library all the time. My goal was basic and humble : I planned to work directly with the .jpg straight out of the camera... That is until I discovered this amazing forum/community just before last christmas. Now you all motivated me to do more with my images and I'm very interested in getting better results by processing the images with Scan Tailor. The problem is I'm trying to learn too many aspects at same time (I obviously don't know much about digital photography for a start :s) and I can't solve some problems on my own. I searched a lot on forum and on the web to find answers, but I couldn't find answers clear or specific enough for what I'm doing (please direct me to somewhere else if you think I missed something - a post answering my questions, for example). Meanwhile, I'm here to ask my very basic questions :)