sheet music & tiff

Don't know where to start, or stuck on a certain problem? Drop by and tell us about it. Feel like helping others? Start here.

Moderator: peterZ

bartvaes
Number of books owned: 0

sheet music & tiff

Post by bartvaes »

Hello everybody,

I want to ask a question about a project I'm about to start.

I'm a musician in several concert / wind bands and for one of them I'm about to start digitizing their sheet music library.
We're talking several 100ths of paper sheet music with varying sizes (mostly A4 & A3, with the occasional A5 or US Letter).

My initial idea was to treat them as text and to scan @ 300dpi black & white, 600dpi grayscale for the occasional cover image.
I'm using openSUSE 42.1 Linux so the scanning program is xsane, and file format = TIFF (compressionless).

Now here comes the problem: my scans should be re-printable, meaning I should be able to make small corrections with tools like unpaper & ImageMagick etc... or manually. After modifying I'd like to have a printable file much like the original.
Instead, the resulting .tiff's are very blurry and unusable.

Now this only happens with TIFF files. When using PNM, PBM, PDF, DJVU or any other format they're OK.
The reason for using TIFF is ScanTailor, but I'm looking into gscan2pdf as alternative.

Feel free to share any insights or suggestions. :)

Thanks,
Bart.
BruceG
Number of books owned: 500

Re: sheet music & tiff

Post by BruceG »

Bart

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_OCR

may give you a few ideas

It is unclear ( from your post) if it is Scan Tailor that is producing the 'blurry and unusable' file or unpaper/ImageMagick.
I am not familiar with these programs. Though I would expect there would be options as to the quality of the file being saved. Not always easily seen.
The file size would be a good indication that something happened.
bartvaes

Post by bartvaes »

Thanks for your reply.