Daniel Reetz, the founder of the DIY Book Scanner community, has recently started making videos of prototyping and shop tips. If you are tinkering with a book scanner (or any other project) in your home shop, these tips will come in handy. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn0gq8 ... g_8K1nfInQ

Opening Scan Tailor in other programes

Don't know where to start, or stuck on a certain problem? Drop by and tell us about it. Feel like helping others? Start here.
Post Reply
stevesculptor
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 May 2018, 07:48
E-book readers owned: none
Number of books owned: 80
Country: Thailand

Opening Scan Tailor in other programes

Post by stevesculptor » 07 Jul 2018, 23:20

Any advice on opening completed Scan Tailor files in other programs like Photoshop, Illustrator, MS Publisher etc ? My page subjects are a mixture of text and line graphics, the graphics I want to improve with tracing in AI or going over them with the pen tool. I can only think to use a screen shot to convert to JPG but this surely not the best way? I've messaged Joseph Artsimovitch but he's not replaying, any help? Thx

zbgns
Posts: 33
Joined: 22 Dec 2016, 06:07
E-book readers owned: Tolino, Kindle
Number of books owned: 600
Country: Poland

Re: Opening Scan Tailor in other programes

Post by zbgns » 08 Jul 2018, 16:49

If I understand it correctly, you need to extract graphics from pages including also text to perform some operations on these pictures with graphics only. Maybe you should think about Scan Tailor Advanced? When mixed output applied (letters to b&w and pictures in color mode) there is an option to save pairs of separate files with background (images) and foreground (text). Afterwards you may gather background files and process them in other programs.
https://github.com/4lex4/scantailor-adv ... background

stevesculptor
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 May 2018, 07:48
E-book readers owned: none
Number of books owned: 80
Country: Thailand

Re: Opening Scan Tailor in other programes

Post by stevesculptor » 09 Jul 2018, 21:25

Thank you for that, yes. I think I have solved it, I did it once at first then missed how I'd achieved it. The file that finishes up in the OUT folder after you have gone through 'Output' is a TIF file and this is importable to the Adobe IL and PS and others, I'll check out the advanced version as well. Thx

Post Reply