New and looking for help :)

A place to introduce yourself, and to meet other awesome people.

Moderator: peterZ

ALA_NDSU

New and looking for help :)

Post by ALA_NDSU »

Hello forum, my name is Mohan and I am a student technician for the Architecture and Landscape Architecture Department at North Dakota State University in Fargo, North Dakota, USA. My immediate supervisor has given me and another lab tech the project of creating a book scanner this summer. The book scanners will be used by faculty primarily to scan portions of books and distribute to students that are otherwise too expensive to require each student to purchase. The book scanners will also be used by students that are doing research for projects and are unable to remove certain books from the library. The resources available to us to complete this project include two laser cutters and a fully functioning wood shop. Due to our need to keep our laser cutters functioning properly, we need to run them at least a half an hour per week throughout the next few months while other students our on summer vacation. We would like to find design specifications that will enable us to use our laser cutters to fully complete this project. We here at the NDSU ALA department appreciate your help in completing this project and pictures will be shared throughout the process. Thank you.
ALA_NDSU

Re: New and looking for help :)

Post by ALA_NDSU »

Also, if this is successful, we will be creating more that one scanner to share and use in other buildings in out department.
daniel_reetz
E-book readers owned: Used to have a PRS-500
Number of books owned: 600

Post by daniel_reetz »

As of right now, the most "standardized" build here is the New Standard scanner. The main thread for building it is here:

http://www.diybookscanner.org/forum/vie ... ?f=1&t=333

But you definitely need to read Drake Ravensmith's experiences building it:

http://diybookscanner.org/forum/viewtop ... f=1&t=1028