Post something about yourself here (The Hello Thread)

A place to introduce yourself, and to meet other awesome people.

Moderator: peterZ

daniel_reetz
E-book readers owned: Used to have a PRS-500
Number of books owned: 600

Post something about yourself here (The Hello Thread)

Post by daniel_reetz »

Hey all, I'm Daniel, the maker of the book scanner instructable http://www.instructables.com/id/DIY-Hig ... d-Cheap-C/.

I'm a grad student in visual neuroscience studying low-level vision. Have a passion for books, cameras, and weird food.

Autophile and I will be your moderators/administrators. w00t~!
rob
E-book readers owned: iRex iLiad, Kindle 2
Number of books owned: 4000

Re: Post something about yourself here (The Hello Thread)

Post by rob »

Hey all, I'm Rob (Autophile on instructables), your benevolent dictator with the iron fist. I have been scanning my books for several years now, primarily because I have several thousand science fiction paperbacks taking up too much space. I would slice the text block out of the book, and feed the pages through a Fujitsu ScanSnap. Of course, I didn't do this to any of the hardcovers. A small part of me died every time I took knife to book.

A few months ago, I saw the DIY Book Scanner instructables page that Dan put up, and immediately built one, adding my observations to the comments. Lately I've scanned a 670 page book in 30 minutes, which wouldn't have been possible without the book scanner. And, the book is undamaged! Hooray!

I've also been working on postprocessing software. Dan & Aaron have theirs, but I like Java for portability so I wrote my own :)

--Rob
The Singularity is Near. ~ http://halfbakedmaker.org ~ Follow me as I build the world's first all-mechanical steam-powered computer.
james415

Post by james415 »

Hello All,